2021-2022 Student Recognition Awards

2021-2022 Student Recognition Awards
Posted on 06/28/2022

Each year, the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board Student Recognition Awards celebrate excellence in student leadership. Students are chosen by their principals and/or vice-principals for their demonstration of initiative, supported by the will to succeed, the dedication to finish what they started, and the commitment to achieve their personal best. Congratulations to this year’s recipient from Glebe Collegiate Institute, Chéda Knight-Johnston!

Chéda Knight-Johnston has a long history of leadership at Glebe Collegiate Institute and within the community. She has maintained an excellent academic record and is a multi-year recipient of the Honour Roll for outstanding achievement, all while demonstrating inspiring leadership. As Co-President of the school’s Student Council, Chéda’s sound judgement has helped to centre student voice and guide school-based decisions that affect students. Chéda is also a past member of Glebe’s LINK Crew, and is a peer tutor with the school’s Best Buddies Interdisciplinary class. In this capacity, Chéda works closely with other student leads to build a culture of community and inclusion within our school and the community. She has also co-founded and helped implement Glebe’s Student Advocacy Organization, creating a bridge between students and staff to focus on advocacy and support for racialized and marginalized students. Chéda is also the Co-President of the school’s Black Students’ Association and is an advocate for mental health and student well-being opportunities; researching, promoting, and engaging health resources and community partners to help students access support through culturally relevant and responsive resources. In striving to achieve positive outcomes and equity for students and in the community, Chéda is exemplary!

Visit the OCDSB website to learn more about the awards and all of the outstanding recipients!
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.